top of page

Art Does Heal

I work part-time at a long-term care facility in my city. Before Covid, I was involved with a non for profit organization called Artistic Expressions. unfortunately due to covid, the organization lost its funding. Well, these classes I was teaching were very important to a group of residents that took advantage of having an art program. they were begging me to start something again.

I wrote up a proposal for a new position at my work. An Art Facilitator who ran an art program for the residents that live there.

Honestly, it was nerve-racking, I was like can I convince this long-term facility to adopt an art program.

well in the beginning it was like, we have no funding available...but bringing up the quality of life and how important art would be to the residents ...and then magically finding some funding, I was given an 8-week trial.

It was an amazing 8 weeks. my residents loved the program. they were so keen every week to learn new techniques and new art projects.

we did self-portrait mandalas, still life acrylic, and watercolor paintings, we also did eco printing, paper marbling, which always somehow comes back into my life. we also did silk painting, chalk drawings, and printmaking. and my Residents were pulling it off! by the way with minimal support. I was so proud of them but most importantly they were proud of themselves. they were self-reliant. Their confidence grew. it was wonderful to watch.

at the end of our 8-week trial, I decided to have a show, and with the support of the other staff that I worked with we organized part of the building to look like a gallery and it was a fabulous show. the residents who participated were so excited and proud to see their artwork on the walls.

to be continued...

bottom of page